Festival 2012

Summary-Awards 2012


IIDFF Poster2012 small

The 1st Ionian International Digital Film Festival held for first time in Lefkas Island from 15 to 22/9/2012 came successfully to its end.


The premiere of the festival on Saturday 15/9, taken place at the Municipal Cinema ‘Apollon’, was crowded and honored among others by the presence of : Mr. Anthony Chaziroglou, Consul General of Greece in Odessa, Lefkada’s Mayor Costas Aravanis, Theodore Verykios-Antiperifereiarchis Lefkadas, Lina Makrygiorgou – Chairman of the Municipal Council, Anastasios Gazis-Vice President of the Cultural Center, etc.


The opening ceremony started with a welcome speech by Lefkada’s Vice Mayor Eleftherios Aravanis and Festival’s Artistic Director and Film Director Thanos Kermitsis, followed by a special screening of the film «Appartamento Ad Atene» (Apartment in Athens) of Ruggero Dipaola with Laura Morante, Richard Sammel and Gerasimos Skiadaressis, a courtesy of the Festival 'TUTTO ITALIA', held in April 2012 in Athens. It was the second official screening in Greece.


Throughout the week the films screenings were scheduled to occur daily in the morning 12.00-14.00 and in the evening 18.00-21.00 at Cine 'Apollon' with free admission for the public.
The screened films came from all over the world with major participations from countries such as : Great Britain, France, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, USA, Russia, Romania, Syria, Bahrain, Australia, Greece etc.
More than 150 digital feature films, shorts and documentaries participated in both the Competition and the Special Screenings sections of the festival.


In the context of developing partnerships with other international festivals, among Special Screenings were also Video Art films from all over the world with the Best of Cologne International Video Art Festival and also the best animation from BETHERE Corfu Animation Festival 2012.

After a varied and interesting film week, the festival ended with the Awards Ceremony on Saturday evening 22/9/2012. The ceremony was attended by many people and, among others, members of the Judging Committee : Dimitris Panagiotatos, Yiannis Soldatos, Vicky Yiannoutsou and Vicky Hassandra, who handed over the awards to the filmmakers those they attended the festival. 

A trailer for each awarded film was screened followed by a short video with a thanking message from filmmakers that couldn’t attend the festival.

The awards consisted of 9 Awards and 6 Honorable Mentions as follows :

BEST SCRIPT    : The Orchard (Sofi Basseghi) - Australia
BEST DIRECTION  :  Voices (Hussain Al-Riffaei) - Bahrain
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY : The Orchard (Reza Shams Latifi) - Australia
BEST MUSIC    : Shadow Beyond Time (Chris Droutsas) - Greece
BEST SOUND   : Shadow Beyond Time (Antonis Koutelias) -Greece
BEST EDITING  : The Orchard (Sofi Basseghi) - Australia
BEST SHORT    : The Orchard (Sofi Basseghi) - Australia
HONORABLE MENTION for a Short Film : Ensemble (Fekrane Mohamed)-France
HONORABLE MENTION for a Short Film : The Taste of Copper(Michael Stratigakis)-USA

BEST FEATURE : A.L.F (Animal Liberation Front) (Jerome Lescure) - France
HONORABLE MENTION for a Feature Film : Maya(Pluton Vasi)- Albania
HONORABLE MENTION for a Feature Film : In this Room (Rich Swingle) -UK

BEST DOCUMENTARY : Τί Μέσα.. Τί έξω - Inside Out (Vaggelis Rigas)-Greece
HONORABLE MENTION for a Documentary : Don't Cry for your hair (Konstantin Semin)–Russia
HONORABLE MENTION for a Documentary : American Songwriter (Michael Atman) - USA

                                                                                                     Festival’s Artistic Director
                                                                                                   Thanos Kermitsis - Director

iidff fb button2 iidff twitter button2 


HELLENIC UNION OF HEPTANISIANS : Copyright © 2016 . All Rights Reserved


                    Designed by AVALON : Audiovisual Digital Productions / e-services